You should go

CdpGNsDWIAAt5Am.jpg largeI’m going to let you in on a little secret.

On nearly a weekly basis as my daughter takes her Saturday or Sunday afternoon nap, I commit unarmed robbery.

Well, unless you consider a debit card a weapon.

In truth, I’m getting away with screaming deals and steals at my local TJ Maxx.

I keep in my bank account hundreds of dollars that would otherwise be kissed goodbye if I didn’t have a visceral aversion to paying full price.

Examples? I’ve got them in spades – including Ms. Kate Spade.

Kate Spade leather tote – $99. Original price $350.
Michael Kors suede handbag – $50. Original price $248.
Zac Posen wallet – $99. Original price $195.
Tory Burch scarf – $40. Original price $175.
Ippolita 18k initial charm – $79. Original price $595.

TJ Maxx is a mecca for discounted designer items. And, contrary to popular belief, nothing is wrong with said merchandise. The aren’t “factory seconds” or damaged or irregular.  They’re just marked down.

20151011_155423_resizedDon’t get me started on the fantastic housewares that are up for grabs (those are just accessories for your home)! I got a Cynthia Rowley comforter set, sheets and throw pillows (pictured left) for a total of $60.

Yes, it’s a bit of a commitment to patience to find these kinds of prices because, due to their nature, these discount stores aren’t as neatly organized or compartmentalized as Neiman Marcus, Macy’s or Nordstrom.

I think that just makes the shopping trip more fun.  The Mothership (as my friends and I lovingly refer to TJ Maxx) and its brethren, Marshalls, Ross and Steinmart are new stores every week. They are never the same place twice. A visit to any of them is rarely fruitless.

This great post encapsulates the justification of my discount devotion – and further explains how to make the most of the Maxx. And, fellow Maxxinistas often tweet to spread the gospel of successful bargain shopping.

Now if we could just get TJ Maxx to branch out into groceries, I’d never have to go anywhere else again.

Leave a Reply

